Services of untouchability in the sacred complex of Lingaraj temple

P. Sreeja, Jagannath Dash, R. Vinoth

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


The problem of untouchability is considered as a serious social malady in the Indian society and is one of the cruellest characteristics of the Indian caste system. The notion of pollution, defilement and contamination have resulted in the worst evil of Hindu society termed as untouchability. The Hindu society is mainly classified into four Varna’s or classes on the basis of caste Hierarchy. The fifth class is the untouchables which is placed outside the caste hierarchy by the people of other castes. In Lingaraj temple there are 36 categories of sevayats (sacred servant) represent 36 different caste or Nijoga locally termed as chhatisa Nijoga serving in the temple as daily sevayats and 17 categories of sacred services performed occasionally. Out of which three categories of sevayats are grouped under ‘Untouchable castes’. They are Dhoba (Sudra), Bauri and Hadi. This paper examines the problem of untouchability in the sacred complex of Lingaraj temple from ethnography field study.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)281-287
Number of pages7
JournalIndian Journal of Public Health Research and Development
Issue number3
Publication statusPublished - 01-03-2019
Externally publishedYes

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health


Dive into the research topics of 'Services of untouchability in the sacred complex of Lingaraj temple'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this